I Need a Tape Recorder

So…it’s been pretty damned busy. I’ve been dealing with damaged roofs, damaged cars, insurance deductibles, work, and life.

But in between all the shit, we managed to find time to go out and eat!! Yes, we hit up our favorite Mexican food place…you know, the one that was so good but sucked…that one!

We walked in and found a booth right away. Breakfast was going well and for the first time in a while, no one was bitching about anything. All felt right with the world.

My mom and aunt were conversing, talking about old times, which is what they do since neither of them can remember what the day of the week is at any given moment.

I sit and listen to them converse while I eat my taco. They talk about things that happened when they were kids. They talk about neighbors they remember at the different homes they lived in while growing up. My mom talked about how her grandpa gave her a nickel every day, which I imagine in the late 1930’s, must have been an extravagant amount of money to give a child on a daily basis.

Eventually, the conversation shifts to present day and my aunt mentions that she needs to go by the bank to get some cash. I tell her I will drive her to the bank after breakfast. I ask her if she has her checkbook with her so I can log in her register that she’ll have a withdrawal. She doesn’t have it but says she’ll remember to write it in when she gets home. My mom interrupts and says, “No, you won’t”.

“Yes, I will,” says my aunt.

“No, you won’t,” says my mom, “we don’t remember anything anymore.” Then my  mom turns to me, and with serious gravity says, “Don’t grow old, mija. When you get old, you forget everything.”

My aunt says, “We don’t forget everything!”

Mom says, “Yes, we do. We grow old and forget.” She pauses for a moment to take a bite of eggs, then says, “What’s my name?” My aunt chimes in and says, “Where are we?” They both begin giggling like little girls and I wish I had a recorder to save that moment because I know that eventually, I, too, will forget. But for now, I just giggle along with them.

Familia I Need Personal

Monica View All →

I enjoy reading and have blogged in the past about travel and books. My latest blog is a vanity blog. I write about whatever comes to mind, specifically, things I think I need in life. Hope you enjoy!

2 Comments Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

