I Need a 1099R

Yesterday, I took a half day off from work so I could run my mom around to make some bill payments and get certain financial information so I can finish putting all my mom’s bills on auto-pay.

So, we ran from one bank to another, making payments and gathering financial information. We went to my mom’s bank so we could get some new checks with my name on them, in case I ever had to write any checks for mom. We went to pay her home insurance (which my mom actually finished paying off about 4 months early because the lady at the insurance company she was going in every week to make a payment), her home equity loan, and her car loan. After all that running around, I took mom home so I could check on her groceries. She needed a few basics so I ran out to pick her up some groceries and bought her some fried chicken for dinner.

I had stopped at Target on my way to mom’s earlier and bought her a write on-wipe off calendar and a small white board. I put the calendar up and filled it in for the month. I wrote down the appointments she had for the month and made notations in red at the bottom. I put up the white board up wrote down some other reminders and phone numbers. I’m hoping the calendar makes her feel more in control of her days.

I felt like I had accomplished everything I’d set out to do so I finished up and headed home for dinner.

When I got home, I remembered that I was going to look for my mom’s 1099R so that I could file her taxes. I had completely forgotten to do this so I called up mom and asked her to look through her mail to see if the document was there. She’s usually pretty good about saving her mail. No, she said, she had not received it.

I said, “Are you sure, mom? They usually send this stuff out at the beginning of January.”

“No, I’m telling you it’s not here. I know what it looks like, I get it every year!” she said.

“Can you look through all your mail again. You can do it while I’m on the phone. Maybe you could read your mail out loud to me?”

“Okay,” she said, “let’s see. I have something from Guideposts. Here’s something from State Farm. Here’s something from the bank. By the way, I’m running out of checks.”

“That’s okay, mom. We went to order some today, remember? Anyway, go on,” I said.

“Okay, here’s something else from the cable, I don’t know what they’re talking about. I’ll save this for you. Here’s something from the Catholic Charities. I don’t know why they keep sending me this shit.”

“Mom, is there anything from OPM (the Office of Personnel Management)?”

“No. Nothing. I’m telling you, they haven’t sent me anything!”

“Okay,” I said, “don’t worry about it. I’ll see if they can send me a copy. I’ll call you later tonight. Don’t worry about it.” I hung up and fixed myself some dinner. As I got ready to sit down and eat, the phone rang again and it was mom. “Hi mom,” I answered.

“Mijita, tu mamá se esta volviendo loca, (Honey, your mother is going crazy)” she says. “I need to file my taxes by tomorrow and I don’t have any papers. What do I do?”

“Mom, you’re not going crazy, your just having a hard time remembering things,” I said. “We talked about this earlier. I’m going to try to get a copy of your papers. And taxes don’t need to be filed until next week, mom. We’re okay. I’ll take care of it so no need to worry.” She calmed down and I hung up and went back to my dinner.

After I ate, I Googled the OPM and found a branch here in S.A. This morning, I drove over there as soon as they opened and as I walked toward the door, two ladies were pushing in a dolly with boxes on it. I said, “Excuse me, is this OPM?” As I was asking the question, the lady started closing the door in my face without saying a word. “Excuse me!” I’m trying to find the Office of Personnel Management and Suite 305. Is this it?” This lady held the door open to a crack and said, “You need to go online to get information. We don’t do that here.” and proceeded to close the door in my face. What a pisser.
giphy
I drove to my office to finish up a report and then went to my mom’s house to do one last look through before resorting to an online battle with OPM.

As soon as I walked into the house, I saw a several piles of mail on one of my mom’s chairs. I picked a pile up to look through, trash. I picked up the second pile. Most of it consisted of circulars and trash mail that my mom had stuffed into postage paid envelopes. Strange… I asked her, “Mom, what are these?” as I held up the stack of envelopes. She took them from me and looked through them. “These are from all the places that send me letters asking for money. I put all the papers back in their postage paid envelopes and mail it all back to them.” Now, why hadn’t I ever thought of that?

I picked up the third stack of papers. There was the letter from the cable company my mom said she was going to save for me. And there behind the letter from the cable company was my mom’s 1099R. I said, “Mom. This is the paper I was asking you about last night. You said you couldn’t find it.” She said, “I didn’t find it.”

“Mom, it’s right here with the letter from the cable company you told me about last night, remember?” “Well,” she said, “they must have just delivered it.”

I’m not going to argue. It’s easier than having to deal with the government.

 

Familia I Need Life Sucks Personal

Monica View All →

I enjoy reading and have blogged in the past about travel and books. My latest blog is a vanity blog. I write about whatever comes to mind, specifically, things I think I need in life. Hope you enjoy!

2 Comments Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

