My Special Needs

Originally, this blog’s title was The Special Needs Life. I’ll bet you’da thought this blog was going to be all about people with special needs, right? Initially, I thought so, too. I thought I would start a blog about how to navigate the system when you have a child with special needs (and I may still do so) but somewhere along the way from there to here, I realized that I needed this blog and I needed the title because lately, I’ve been feeling that I have special needs. That’s right, I have special needs. This is not my attempt to make light of anyone out there with special needs. It’s been my field for well over 30 years. It’s just that today, this morning as a matter of fact, I felt as though that title could apply to me on some days, especially today. So, I hijacked my own blog.

Here’s a list of the “special” needs I have at the moment (although this may change without prior notice):

  • I need to quit being fat
  • I need to get healthier
  • I need to appreciate myself more
  • I need to accept the fact that my mom and my aunt have dementia and that life, as I knew it, will never be the same
  • I need to get smarter about my money…wait a minute…what money?
  • I need to get some stuff done to this shitty, little house so it can be my saving grace whenever I can actually afford to retire

I know there are more needs than that…special needs I’m probably not even thinking about right now but who has the damned time to do so?

Anyway, in the interest of having people google “special needs” and finding this blog lumped together with other legitimate entries about people with special needs, I decided to rename the blog and publish this first, “how-do-you-do” post.

If you’re offended by opinions (I know, they’re like assholes and we all have them) or cursing (I suppose I should have listed that first), or minorities (I’m female, hispanic, AND a lesbian) then you might want to high-tail it out of here before you get in too deep.

If you’ve decided to stick around, then welcome. This may be your only chance to get away but if you stay, you do so at your own risk.poison

General

Monica View All →

I enjoy reading and have blogged in the past about travel and books. My latest blog is a vanity blog. I write about whatever comes to mind, specifically, things I think I need in life. Hope you enjoy!

2 Comments Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

